My desktop broke! WAAAA!

Microsoft pushed out some updates and it broke my computer BAD! The stupid thing won’t even finish the update cycle. It reboots and crashes and I couldn’t even get it into safemode or the command prompt from that computer. It refuses to break out of the boot cycle. Been fighting it it all week. I don’t have the resources I need to fix it at home. This is the one time I wish I was still working, then I could drag it in and put it on the bench and fix it. (I was an IT tech for 30 years but I don’t have a shop or spare test equipment at home.)

I had to boot with an emergency Bootable USB to recover my files, then I’ll have to rebuild it and REINSTALL every darned thing I put on it for the last few years. grumble… Remembering all the DOS file copy commands. lol… Xcopy C:\Users\Username\Desktop*.* f:\BACKUP2020 /S

THAT is taking a LONG time to copy over. So Laterz! I won’t be coming to any Watch parties until I get this fixed. My laptop is too small and uncomfortable to sit at for any length of time. GrumbleGrumbleGrumble :face_with_symbols_over_mouth: :smirk:

That’s horrible! I’m so sorry. I hope you can get it fixed soon! :four_leaf_clover:

Given your background, I at least hope you have a backup of everything important.
You could also have made a ghost copy if you don’t like reinstalling stuff.
I never do ghost copies, though. I do grumble too when I have to move to a new laptop, for instance, it takes me about two full days. But I see it as an opportunity to clean up the system of old junk accumulated by various applications during the years and maybe re-think whether I really want or need or use all of the programs anyway.

Oh yea, I do have backups of my data but it takes DAYS to reinstall all my software. My desktop was broken so bad by the update that I was unable to restore it or recover it. I could boot to the command prompt so I know the hardware is ok, just the OS is mangled.