Anyone learning Mandarin?

Hello Everybody,

I was wondering if there’s sb who is also learning Mandarin.
I am still a beginner and I can only use pinyin, not the characters but I love the language.

Could you please recommend some sites/books/apps that I could learn with? Preferably for free.
I used to study with yoyochinese which I absolutely loved but I can’t afford it at the moment.

Thank you <3

1 Like

Hello :slight_smile:

Difficult language, isn’t it? I always feel like I’m taking one step forward and seven behind.

I have a few recommendations that worked for my learning style:

I use the free parts of HSChinese (especially for hsk1 and hsk2) It mainly offers mobile apps, but if you register you can do dozens of mock test exercises on their website.

I also like the Chinese Grammar Wiki. It is very detailed and with lots of examples.

I I found out about this website by @emmelie96. It explains the texts and is great for honing your reading and writing skills.

For listening, you can always trust www.Viki.com :slight_smile:

Since you are a beginner, just do what I do: try to recognize basic vocabulary. Pronouns, family members, main foods, types of buildings…

Viki Fan Channels usually have subtitles in simplified chinese. You could isolate a phrase that you’d like to learn, copy the subtitles and look them up in your dictionary.

2 Likes

I recomend to you app pleco, is very usefull and help me when I study mandarin =D

3 Likes

I really like this blog https://themandarincornerblog.com/
Just for a fun and informative read about some Chinese phrases and their cultural context and background

2 Likes

Thank you so much @christina_!

I will definitely take a closer look to those websites.

I am a quite demanding learner because I like structure and building up on the basics. That doesn’t make it easier. :smiley:

Viki helps me a lot with the listening. I will try to follow your recommendations.

Thank you again!

1 Like