Viki

Chinese novels that you want to see adapted into drama


#1

Female lead

  1. Insanely Pampered Wife: Divine Doctor Fifth Young Miss https://www.novelupdates.com/series/insanely-pampered-wife-divine-doctor-fifth-young-miss/
  2. Crossing to the Future, it’s Not Easy to Be a Man https://www.novelupdates.com/series/crossing-to-the-future-its-not-easy-to-be-a-man/
  3. Mesmerizing Ghost Doctor https://www.novelupdates.com/series/mesmerizing-ghost-doctor/
  4. Unscrupulous Enchantress https://www.novelupdates.com/series/unscrupulous-enchantress-the-young-miss-has-arrived/
  5. The Demonic King Chases His Wife https://www.novelupdates.com/series/the-demonic-king-chases-his-wife-the-rebellious-good-for-nothing-miss/
  6. Poisoning the World: The Secret Service Mysterious Doctor https://www.novelupdates.com/series/poisoning-the-world-the-secret-service-mysterious-doctor-is-a-young-beastly-wife/
  7. Across the Stunning Beast Princess: Phoenix Against the World https://www.novelupdates.com/series/across-the-stunning-beast-princess-phoenix-against-the-world/
  8. My Beautiful Commander https://www.webnovel.com/book/11107023406258105
  9. Prodigiously Amazing Weaponsmith https://www.novelupdates.com/series/prodigiously-amazing-weaponsmith/
  10. Flowers Bloom from Battlefield https://www.webnovel.com/book/10580655105066605/Flowers-Bloom-from-Battlefield
  11. Ghost Emperor Wild Wife https://www.novelupdates.com/series/ghost-emperor-wild-wife-dandy-eldest-miss/
  12. Lady Cultivator https://www.novelupdates.com/series/lady-cultivator/

Male lead

Coiling Dragon https://www.novelupdates.com/series/coiling-dragon/


#2

One of the most wow Chinese novels I could fall upon:

https://www.novelupdates.com/series/the-rebirth-of-the-malicious-empress-of-military-lineage/

She was initially from a noble military lineage but because of her mistakes and blindness, the current Emperor (her husband) used her military clan to take the throne after marrying her.
She didn’t live happily as an Empress: struggles in the Palace, held hostage in an enemy country to save her own people, had her two children killed, has brought death upon all her clan and many other clans destroyed by the Imperial family who feared a rebellion, was cheated by her husband the Emperor and was finally killed by the people she trusted the most in the Palace.

Instead of dying, she went back in time before everything happened, before she became Empress.
The first 25 chapters were okay, but next chapters… are really great.
She knows some events and will change them, but by doing so, the future becomes unknown to her and new dangers appear.
She doesn’t know every card or every person, but little by little, she’s avenging her family death.

A lot of cruel scheming, slow love story, (be careful, contains rape, violence, torture allusion but it’s not described when it happens), weak to strong character, unpredictable plot, flowing style, addicting at each chapter, a lot of characters, strategist female lead.

The author doesn’t depict the main female lead as childish or kind, but as an Empress who has suffered and seen a lot. I’m expecting the chapter where she will take care of the Emperor.

A small excerpt
Credits: author, translator and editor (thanks a lot to them!)


#3

Chongfei manual

https://www.novelupdates.com/series/chongfei-manual/

Genre: reincarnation, female lead, ancient China, schemes, concubines, love story, Chinese chicklit, smut, (lollicon?)

It looks like The Rebirth of the Malicious Empress, but the FL was still a 6-year-old child when she died, killed by her stepmother and was not Empress, but a noble’s daughter.
She’s reborn before the accident and will change events of her lifetime.
She will leave a strong impression on the Prince by bitting him on their first encounter, will become the best friend of the Emperor’s daugther confined in the Palace and many men will be secuded by her beauty. But only the Prince knows how much vicious she can be.

Caution: contains rape inuendos but not described, smut scenes

My pov on the 1st volume: hilarious smut scenes, schemes are less intricate than Rebirth, but the love story is more daring than what I could have read so far in romance Chinese novels.
Some suspense and unpredictable love stories! I would have enjoyed an extra version with a love story between ennemies.

[details=Excerpt (pg 16 or 17, you’ve been warned)]
[/details]


#4
  1. Rebirth of the strongest female emperor

https://www.novelupdates.com/series/rebirth-of-the-strongest-female-emperor/

Slow paced romance, outer sect, inner sect, cultivation roots, academy, FL with wits
Not draggy but too light on the romance part.
Each chapter is consistent.

  1. Venerated Venomous Consort

https://www.novelupdates.com/series/venerated-venomous-consort/

Hilarious, romance, but don’t like that almost all the guys fall for her, assassin FL, medical genius, embarrassing scenes between main couple
Draggy to jump some filler chapters (+3k chap…)
Original in: clone; couple died in old life, both reappear in another life but not as a couple! Old life flashbacks have their meaning.

Both are not written in a poetic way (miss Ever Night), but have story twists and action.