Even academics are interested in Viki! weeeeee :D

I was reseraching translation and ideology for an essay the other day and I came across something pretty surprising. I was on the Taylor&Francis website looking at articles and the “most read” box had this on top: “Fansub Dreaming on ViKi”
A journal article about fansubbing on Viki, here’s an abstract https://www.stjerome.co.uk/tsa/abstract/14606/

it was published in 2012 and a lot of the details abot viki’s policies and fan subbing practises are actually quite out of date already, but I think it’s pretty cool that people outside the fansubbing/drama fan community are showing an interest!
Most of us are amateur translators who are doing it for fun and the love of dramas and probably don’t care about what translation studies and the industry have to say, but I’m happy to see fan subbing being taken seriously…fan subs are what got me into (audiovisual) translation, that’s what I’m studying now and hopefully one day not too far away it’ll become a career, so yay for fan subbing!! :smiley:

anybody else out there studying translation or subtling or interested in becoming a professional translator?

5 Likes

I even think viki deserves an award. Don’t think I am crazy lol

The thing is that viki is a big chance to encourage tolerance… ppl are working and talking with each other without caring about the religion or nationality… The idea of viki is just awesome.
They make a big difference I think ppl should see that…

4 Likes

Hi Jubri,
I am trained as a professional translator and I love subbing on Viki. For one thing, we sub on teams, which as a translator, I don’t usually get to do. Also, the vocabulary is fun. It’s everyday vocabulary with discussions on everything from relationships to finances. I learn so much translating on Viki. I would also like to do more translating in the film and TV industry, both subbing and the support materials.