[for HELP] want to know Chinese-English subbers~

:笑脸:Hi everyone! I’m CC from China. Now I am a post-gruaduate student majoring in English translation in China. Because my thesis topic is about Chinese costume drama subtitle translating, I want to know how overseas volunteers translate our Chinese drama subtitles and when they face lines which are difficult to understand, how they try to solve problems. I also want to know how audience think of this translation.

I hope to know some of you who are Chinese-English subbers or Chinese drama fans and can provide me with your ideas about Chinese dramas. That’s very kind of you!!! Thanks a lot! When someday you need help, I will try my best to help you.

You can contact me on this forum. You can also send me an e-mail by 944245277@qq.com or chenchunpku@163.com

2 Likes

I love that my friends (who subtitle chinese drama) are willing to consider suggestions I make in translation. I think the layers of editing really does make a huge difference because the English comes out very clean.

I learn a lot from the author notes. It even helps me understand sinocisms in the language I translate from (Korean). Overall I enjoy Chinese drama because they are different from Korean drama. Their quality has also improved so much the last few years.

For example I really loved When A Snail Falls in Love. My first taste of chinese drama was the classic Legend of Zhen Huan 76 episode version. If course I skipped around.

That’s very kind of you to reply to me!!! I wonder whether you are a subtitle translator or a Chinese drama fan. I recommend you to see Chinese Paladin 1.:blush: It is very touching!!! Can I have a chat with you?

I was hoping you weren’t feeling too discouraged. I am both. I subtitle korean drama and I became active on viki because of Chinese historical drama! Chinese Paladin 1 isn’t finished though.