Have you watched Legend of Zhen Huan? Please help!

Hello Everyone:

I am a postgraduate student at University of Warwick. I am doing a research on Legend of Zhen Huan/Empresses in the palace from the non-Chinese audience’s point of view. If you want to share your opinions and want to help Chinese people have an understanding of foreign standpoint, would you mind to spend some time answering these questions?

1. Did you watch the 6-episode version or 76-episode version?
  2. Which country are you from? Do you speak Chinese?
  3. Do you watch this series with English subtitles? How do you feel about the translation?
  4. Do you like Legend of Zhen Huan (Empresses in the Place) and what do you think of it?
  5. How do you get started with this drama?
  6. How do you understand the complex culture in Chinese costume drama? (For example, did you discuss with friends, search the articles/read books, learn it from the explanation text post by fans, or through other ways?)
  7. How do you compare Legend of Zhen Huan (Empresses in the Palace) to the costume drama in your own country?
    8.What are the elements of Chinese costume drama that attract you the most?

Thank you!
Mengchu ZHU

1 Like

Hey, ZHU,
As a fan of Huan Huan, I’m glad to answer these questions. (although it seems too much.ok, breath breath)

1. Both
  2. Spain,No
  3. No; The official English subtitles of 6-episode are at best awkward and at worst a garbled mess. The sense of whole conversations is lost in inept translation. It’s a pity.
  4. I have to say it is a powerful, exquisite feast of a drama that deserves an international audience.
  5. I am a costume drama lover. I got asian costume drama by accident. They seems so different from European costume drama. It’s really good to watch, even though most are long-running. But for asian drama, I don’t need to wait season by season. And watching costume drama is an easy way to learn different culture.