Historical Japanese Dramas?

Hi! I have seen a few Korean historical dramas, and I’ve touched on Chinese historical dramas, but I suddenly realized that I haven’t seen any Japanese historical dramas that are done in Japan. If anyone has seen them, are they worth watching? Which ones do you recommend? Thanks :slight_smile: (PS: this is my first time creating a discussion post, so if there is another post like this, I’m sorry, and I’ll delete this one)

1 Like

Jin is about a present day doctor time traveling back to feudal Japan. Worth watching. (It also has a Korean remake. Both on Viki.)

I was also watching Yae no Sakura, Ryomaden and Chuushingura no Koi, they’re very long so I didn’t finish, and 2 of them were on dramafever which is down. There’s also a palace drama “Ooku” but can’t find it anywhere. I’ve watched a lot of Chinese palace dramas and some Korean ones so I’m curious.

2 Likes

Thanks! I’ll definitely try Jin, and if I can find the other dramas, I’d like to watch them too.

Sanada Maru ROCKS if you can find a copy. We don’t have it here, alas!

It has a really awesome depiction of the Taiko and other historically-correct information, yet is entertaining…and…I think I NEED some of that armor. I mean…er…um…yeah I need at least one set of armor from that one. :slight_smile:

In addition to the drama itself, every episode has a travelogue at the end showing where the episode took place in Japan AND the shrines, the castles all of it! :slight_smile:

I need to find the time to watch this one again.

Crouching Dieter, Hidden Donut…aka Untouchable Dueling Qianlong Qing Donuts

p.s. (PLEADING LOOK AT THE OVERLORDS…) C’mon, tons O Fluffy Japanese dramas…give us the really great historical dramas!!! I know they’re hard as hell to subtitle and probably really expensive…but…they are glorious for us, the fans!!

1 Like