Let's talk about segmenting!

I’m new to segmenting!! I have a few questions. Viki have the public assistance under project finder, but how helpful is this? It looks like anyone can have access to it. Can the channel manager restrict who can segment and assist with subtitle on their projects? Do they have the option to remove their project from the project finder? Or is the project finder consists of only projects that do not have any restriction.

I recently ran across a project that state segmenting without consent will be punish. How is this enforce? Any clue?

2 Likes

For projects with a channel manager, you should ask him or her first. As it is their project and they are the overseer.
If it is owned by viki, I guess it is a free-for-all?
Project Finder is ok… but still best to ask.

I found segmenting properly quite difficult. For subtitling, users should be courteous and ask the chief editor if English team, if not their language moderator.

I don’t think anyone has a say what goes on project finder… @.@ I found it random and mostly old off-air things.
Your segments and subtitles get deleted I think.

1 Like

Indeed segmenting properly is difficult. If all assistance can understand the language, it will be easier to segment.

1 Like

http://nssacademy.weebly.com/
sign up here: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSfdtZX5D-i4MI4EDfhMV6bVy1Ng6qe3_3a7mkpygT8xWjRWjw/viewform#start=invite

I would definitely recommend getting trained. We have found that people without training do not fully understand segmenting from the video Viki shows you. It is difficult yes but if you are trained, it becomes so much easier and fun. I actually enjoy it now. At first I didn’t but once I knew what I was doing, it was much easier.