Long-term dramas

Hi :blush:

I am rather new to the kdrama world but am a huge fan regardless. What I want to know is if there are any long term running kdramas? Something like the American soapies?

If you like shows with many episodes and sometimes sequels I’d suggest Chinese dramas. They are often longer (many have 40-60 episodes, some 70-90).

3 Likes

K-dramas come in

• miniseries format (16 episodes, sometimes extended to 20 or 22)
  • weekend family dramas (50 episodes, they last for 6 months)
  • dailies (100 episodes). We almost never get those on Viki. It would be hard to find volunteer teams willing to commit to them.

As has been already said, Chinese dramas are much longer (most often unnecessarily so)

1 Like

Thanks, I don’t really enjoy cdramas, have tried to start several but never got involved. I was just wondering, since I have never been to Korea what the tv landscape was like.

Yes Chinese dramas tend to be long, And I don’t think as you have said “Most often unnecessarily so.”
Being that Chinese is the oldest Asian culture, their dramas is sometime base on history or fantasy with a touch of their myths. I think personally some Chinese dramas can not just be done in a short quick fashion of episodes, there is an art to Storytelling. For example “Eternal Love” would have fell short if done in very short episodes leaving the viewers with questions not answer. I love the way Chinese give you a complete story and not a quick thank you bye.