Viki and VPNs?

Hello everyone,

this might be a stupid question, but I am not very well-versed on these topics.
I had just started watching and subtitling a drama on Viki when all of a sudden it was blocked in my region. Several subbers then told me to install a VPN to circumvent the restriction and continue with the subtitling. Is that allowed? It doesn’t sound like it would be…
I have no experience with using a VPN, and my only knowledge stems from what I have read on the internet, where it says that one is not guilty of an offence when using VPNs, but that many content providers will block you from accessing their services if you try to circumvent geoblocking regulations.

I would be glad if someone could help me with this.
It’s so unfortunate that so many shows are not available for viewers outside of the Americas, but of course, I don’t want to do anything illegal.

Thanks in advance!

1 Like

Es verstößt im Grunde schon gegen die Richtlinien wegen Lizenzierung usw.

Dass du mitten beim Übersetzen nun nicht mehr weitermachen kannst, ist sehr bedauerlich. Hast du schon VIKI Pass und QC Status? Bei manchen Sendungen geht das Übersetzen nur mit VIKI Pass/QC Status.

Ich würde kein VPN zum Übersetzen verwenden, auch deshalb, weil Gratis-VPNs mitunter ein Sicherheitsrisiko für dich/deinen PC darstellen können und ich würde mich für ehrenamtliche Arbeit hier nicht so etwas aussetzen wollen.

Es gibt so viele Serien, die zu wenig Subber haben und in Europa freigegeben sind, dass ich mich lieber auf diese konzentrieren würde (bedenke, dass deutschsprachige Zuschauer die Sendung ohne VPN auch nicht ansehen können und im Zweifel ist deine ganze Mühe und Zeit dann vergebens).

Viele Grüße :sunny:

1 Like

Well, now that I have gotten two replies with diametrically opposed views, I am even more confused… :woman_shrugging: