A question about the use of <br> in subtitles

Hi, I’ve been translating on the viki for a few years now, but recently I had a question about the use of the in sentences, what is the rule? That I use the < br > in a sentence with more than 3 lines?

I see translators using it in one or two lines, I even got into a discussion (friendly discussion), about how and where to use it.

1 Like

These are the only official guidelines for adding breaks in subtitles.

1 Like

Well If they are short phrases like Yes, No , Maybe, Ok, etc. like you get when 2 people are talking over each other on a talk show, then 3 lines MAX. You don’t want the subtitle box covering too much of the screen. and if there are too many different speakers, the segmenter should have cut the sound bites smaller so that each person has their own segment or, if short sentences then only 2 people in the same segment.

2 Likes

I usually avoid three lines. But…

1. …there are some (Chinese) subtitles which physically don’t fit into just two lines.
  2. …if on top of a long, two-line worth sub comes a translator explanation, I put the latter into the 3rd line.

Those are the only two times I would use three lines in a sub.

4 Likes

Thanks for the answers! :relieved:

" * Please avoid adding breaks <br> without spaces (1 space sufices). In the Roku TV app, the break will not be rendered and the words will run together if there are no spaces in between the break and the next line."
A huge proportion of watchers are using roku which doesn’t handle breaks well so the use of a break within dialogue from the same person is simply cosmetic and not necessary. As a general rule I tell subbers not to use a break at all unless it is to separate dialogue from two speakers or to separate dialogue from text on screen on a song lyric in the same segment.