Can I translate a new drama that require vikipass standars without a vikipass?

Hi, I’m new to translating and wanted to help translate a new C-drama but I noticed that it require a vikipass standard to watch it, so I was wondering if I can translate it without the vikipass or I is it necessary to have one.

1 Like

If you can’t watch it, you won’t have access to the translating tools either so no, unfortunately, you can’t translate it.
You basically have 2 options:

1. Buy a Viki Pass
  2. Work on shows that don’t require a Viki Pass for now. Once you have reached 3,000 subtitles, you will get a free Viki Pass and then you will have a lot more shows to choose from.
6 Likes

okay, thank you for your answer.

3 Likes

It’s impossible. You must be able to watch it to have the access to subtitles. Everything depends on Viki pass or Viki pass plus ou no pass.

5 Likes

So those living in the U.S. for instance could potentially work on Viki’s entire library. But someone from Romania is stuck with just the handful of dramas that make it out here. I don’t like that, No, Sir! :no_good_man:

6 Likes

Well, yes, the Americas at least have the advantage of the Viki Pass Plus which people in other places simply can’t get (not paid, nor otherwise). And in general, content providers are more interested in the US than in our countries. There’s not much Viki can change about that either.
QCs and Gold QCs do have the advantage that they can see some of the shows that are normally not available in their area, but not all of them.

2 Likes

It stings, but what can I do anyway? :confused:

2 Likes

Not much, I’m afraid. You could request shows, but that only works if many people in your area request it, too, and even then not always.