Please Ask Questions

Hihi!

Recently, it has come to my attention that some? many? have been doubting the validity of the English subtitles and the edits the English team makes. And I thought I’d address it and do my part to help.

I am not a professional translator. I do, however, care very much about the projects I take and providing the best subtitles to the best of my ability. But I am also human, sometimes mistakes do occur—I may accidentally skip over a subtitle or my edit doesn’t save because of my wifi issues—and I acknowledge that. No one is perfect.

So, speaking for myself, I don’t mind, in fact, I welcome any messages that ask clarifying questions regarding translations because it shows someone cares about the show as much as me and wants to provide the best subtitles for viewers. It also allows for me to learn and grow as a translator.

I will do my best to answer any questions you have about the source language to English translations and I please ask that you bring up those questions whether it’s a DM in the Viki Inbox or a post in the TD. Don’t be afraid because of some past history you had with English editors. This is how we grow as a community. Furthermore, while you may catch these mistakes and fix them in your own language, the English viewers also deserve the best subtitles and we on the English team also want that for our viewers.

Thank you!

18 Likes

Thank you for all you do for us!!!

Thank you for being open-minded and wanting to learn more! We so appreciate you!!!

7 Likes

Hello, I am also not a professional translator or editor, but I have always wanted the opportunity to join a team that translates from Chinese to English and I have always had this question in mind, when editing or translating I believe there are sometimes where you translate according to the context of the scenario so that it is more understandable, but sometimes this isn’t necessary because you could just translate it literally. For example;