Serbian, Croatian or Serbo-croatian - Informations please!

Hello everyone,

I think everyone need some learning about these three category, “Serbian”, “Croatian” and “Serbo-croatian” languages. Can some person inform us about this? Is this the same language? Do we need one moderator for each one?

I’m just interested because I’m not an expert and I’m questionning myself about this community on viki. Public informations are the best, I think.
Thank you!

1 Like

I translate to Croatian (I’m from Croatia) and Serbo-Croatian.

Croatian and Serbian are two different languages. To make a long story short, Croatia, Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Slovenia, Macedonia and Montenegro used to be in the same country called Yugoslavia, where the official language was Serbo-Croatian. All of these nations understand approximately each other’s languages, but as a viewer it’s sometimes hard to follow the subs. The languages are naturally evolving away from each other on a daily basis.

Reasons to use Serbo-Croatian language:

1. Lack of volunteers in one or more languages. Meaning, if a Serbian, a Croatian, a Bosnian and a Montenegrin want to work together on one show, they can do it in Serbo-Croatian language. Saves us all a lot of time. Viewers are happy, they get their show faster.

2. Serbian language technically ought to be written using cyrillic alphabet. However, since 1990 not many people in Croatia and Slovenia can read it. The alphabet is no longer taught in school. So, some Serbian moderators ask to be moderators for both Serbian (using cyrillics) and Serbo-Croatian where they pretty much write the same thing, only in latin alphabet.

3. Project was abandoned midway in one or both languages. I did this once, I asked to be a mod for Serbo-Croatian because I couldn’t make myself correct the awful Croatian subs. I wanted to start afresh.