Subtitle upload practice

I have seen the followings on one or two shows - When the show first becomes available there is no English subtitle. And they would release the full subtitle (100%) when it’s ready. I don’t know if that would make everyone happy, but it would eliminate the types of questions about “why the subtitle disappears at certain points of the episode”. However, it could be a couple days or more sometimes before the subtitles is 100% complete. What’s your opinion?

1 Like

So you would like a feature that allows the moderator (or CE) to release the subtitles only when they are at 100%? But some people like to see the progress and even watch an episode with only a few subtitles. For those people who complain, they should just check the percentage before watching an episode.
Anyway, I think there will always be complaints. Sometimes, it comes from people who doesn’t even know how Viki works.

13 Likes

I have been using Viki for the past 3+ years and it amazes me everyday when I see those complaints. I wonder if they are all new to Viki or they never figure it out. :slight_smile:

I do wonder if it’s up to the individual subtitle team to decide how to deploy the subtitle

8 Likes

The subtitles aren’t “uploaded” (exception: pre-subbed dramas), they are there at the moment the subber clicks “save” on a segment or switches to the next segment.
So when someone play an episode, the subtitles will be shown to them at the level as it is. And as long as they do not update while playing, it remains so.

10 Likes

This is how it works:
https://support.viki.com/hc/en-us/articles/115015389988-Subtitle-Creation-on-Viki

3 Likes

Sometimes it’s only lyrics missing or something, in that case the episode can be watched, but is still not at 100%. The same if a series is released presubbed. After the segmenters worked on it, it has like 85-95% depending on how much additional stuff they added. Still, that episode could be watched without a hitch before this.