What is the best way to find segmenting projects? I'm frustrated

The project finder had the potential of being a great resource, except the fact that it doesn’t filter closed or completed projects by language. Nor is it intuitive enough to offer a direct link to the show’s homepage so, if in doubt about a project’s availability, one can review the episode completion percentages. Am I simply using it incorrectly?

The first year after I graduated the academy I sent an innumerous amount of inquires and applications to segment. Most responses, the better portion of them all, let me know the project was complete or full. And, that is if I got a response at all. Now,I do attempt to reconnect with people of past projects but those individuals don’t always hold the same moderator position.

My schedule, like many others, has limited flexibility. A great deal of time is wasted on fishing for projects for these poor results. The frustration and disappointment I feel are taking their toll. Wasn’t the point of the project finder to simplify and streamline this process? To develop functioning communities and not exclusive cliques? If I am doing it wrong, I will gladly cop to that because I really want to contribute and I would love for someone to explain to me exactly how to do it right.

3 Likes

My first advice would be: don’t use the project finder. Project finder messages go to the CM and not the CS. I don’t think anyone uses the project finder except for new volunteers.
The best way to secure a project would be to message a CS directly and offer your services on a show. Even if they might not need you for that show, they could message you when their next show comes along.

3 Likes