What was the most effective way you learned another language?

I noticed that there are loads of multilingual people on this site.

• How many languages do you know?
  • What was the best way for you to learn a language other than your native one?
  • How long did it take?
  • Is there anything you’d do differently if you had a 2nd time around?
1 Like
  • i know 5 languages: indonesian, english, chinese (mandarin, hokkian, cantonese), korean, and japanese. my main language is indonesian, but in everyday life i also speaks english and hokkian with my friends. with my grandparents, they always ask me to also speak mandarin at home which i did, but since i graduated from high school and i live far from my family, my chinese slowly fades away. i only speaks mandarin with my grandparents, because my parent don’t really know mandarin, since they used to speak cantonese and hokkian at home.
    i don’t really know a lot in cantonese, korean, and japanese. i only know some vocabularies, but i still lack in grammar. i learn those languages myself; i learn cantonese by listening to some conversation my mom had with her aunt and cousins, i learn korean by watching k-drama, k-variety, videos from youtube (i was so lucky i found some youtube user which teaches us some korean grammar, vocabularies, and even they told us lots of information about korea), and from smartphone apps, i learn japanese from a friend of mine who’s addicted to manga and anime.
  • for me, the best way to learn a language is by speaking with someone who has that language as one’s native language, the second is by watching shows and videos related to it.