Your first project

I was very eager to do my first subtitle project so that I can be a part of this fan community!

I desired to choose my own favourite shows that I want to watch but not yet get lucky to be translated in my language ( Arabic) because I believe a fan work must be done from the heart and drived by passion!

However, I contacted for only 2 shows, because I want to focus in one project at a time since one from them is almost finished but the progress is in snail steps. But after 2 weeks I didn’t get a respond!

So I applied for another 2 a couple hours ago, but I don’t feel good about getting respond too!

I know since I am a newbie here they must not have a trust , but how can we build a trust without any experience?!

I am frustrated right now, could you tell me about your first project and how you start to subtitle? I may get inspired again!

2 Likes

I haven´t done anything in the Viki community yet but my advice is to have patience as most of those engaged in Viki does it on their spare time. :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Yes I know, but 2 weeks without respond is a little too much I think, I prefer negative respond over not getting anything :laughing:

3 Likes

Your language community is rather small, so it’s more difficult to get started. Especially, as there are many irresponsible and dishonest people around who abandon projects in between or don’t even know the language (either English or the one they are supposed to translate into). Therefore, it’s easier to start as a subtitler and work together with another experienced contributor/moderator on projects. I would message those directly.

Furthermore, some Channel Managers tend to ignore messages from the project finder if this one was used - and others are simply not active (anymore).