Retrieving my older subtitles

Hi everyone! :smile:

I’m new to Viki, and have just recently started on my first project as a Chinese-English subber. I would love to be able to compare my subtitles before and after the editors do their magic, so that I can learn from my mistakes. Unfortunately, I had failed to realise that Viki only keeps the records of my most recent contributions, and thus, am unable to do the comparisons now, when the episodes have been edited.

I’m guessing that there’s no way for me to obtain them anymore, but I thought to try asking, just in case.

Thank you!

Update:

If you are a subber who fills in empty lines in every other part and do not have a part to call your own, and wishes to save your subtitle contributions in the quickest way possible, I have found a method involving Javascript and Python that takes less than 5 minutes per episode. Drop me a PM if you want to learn more!

3 Likes

If you click on “Activities” in the subtitle editor you get a list of everything everyone did on the episode you’re looking at. It says “soyamilkbeancurdpudd created an English subtitle”, but also “… [Moderator] updated an English subtitle from … to …”
In the updates only the moderator’s name is mentioned though, so you have to recognise that it was yours.
You can also ask the moderators what they changed. Some actually tell you that by themselves without you asking, but it depends on the person.

3 Likes

That is, if they didn’t deleted the whole subtitle (but only the CM can do that) as far as I know bc she should be able to see all her subs (non edited on recent contributions).

1 Like

I suggest you go to profile page of the editor in the drama or moderator you think edited your subtitles, and you can see the edited version in their page. Edited version can not be seen in our profile page.

1 Like